Birthday Shoes and Pizza

When Dan and I first started getting to know each other, we sent emails about once a week while I was away at college. Once I came home for the summer, he kept wanting to get together but nothing just spontaneously worked out, so finally he had to call my house and ask me.

At the time of the phone call I was just about to eat some lunch, a bowl of leftover spaghetti. I answered the phone and was just lifting the first forkful to my mouth when Dan asked, “Have you eaten any lunch yet?” and I (after putting the fork down) honestly answered, “No”.

An hour later we were chatting over sandwiches at Quiznos, finally getting a chance to just sit and talk for the first time only a day before Dan would leave on a ten-day mission trip to Guyana. It wasn’t officially a date. We didn’t start dating for another year and a half. But it was the first date none-the-less. Now I have the joy of eating with Dan every single night, and seeing him every single morning and evening, and I love it.

I share this story because, 1) It’s a good story, and 2) Tuesday was Dan’s birthday, the day we celebrate all things Dan. We love him.

There may have been pizza involved.

 photo IMG_8644_zps3a1ddc54.jpg

I may have tried to take a picture with just salad on the plate to keep the pizza a little family secret. The secret is out. There was pizza. Lydia went bazurk and Dan didn’t feel all that well afterward. Lesson learned.

 photo IMG_8645_zps9e12908e.jpg

I guarded the cards and gifts zealously for days leading up to this celebration, but finally the time came when Abby…er…Dan got to open presents.

 photo IMG_8648_zps51b0bea1.jpg

 photo IMG_8656_zps2393bee8.jpg

But, slow down. Cards first. Always.

 photo IMG_8651_zpsd801d485.jpg

 photo IMG_8649_zpsd6658442.jpg

Then presents.

 photo IMG_8658_zpsb38358cc.jpg

 photo IMG_8661_zpsa1c3793b.jpg

 photo IMG_8659_zpsfd824238.jpg

 photo IMG_8655_zps8cecd871.jpg

 photo IMG_8657_zps1181ecf8.jpg

 photo IMG_8660_zps7c027d53.jpg

Dan got some much-needed new shoes (barefoot shoes, see how they bend?), weightlifting shoes, and his old jump rope. The girls loved the jump rope but were unimpressed with the shoes. Dan loved the shoes but took the jump rope from the girls because it was getting a little dangerous.

 photo IMG_8647_zpsf8132cb6.jpg

Dan thanks everyone for their kind birthday thoughts, words, and prayers. Apart from the post-pizza-unwellness, I think he had a nice day. We certainly enjoyed it as we enjoy him every day. And, we were all happy that Baby did not join us for the celebration.

5 thoughts on “Birthday Shoes and Pizza

  1. We’re so glad he had such a good day! May it be the first of a very good, and exciting year! Love the pictures, and love you all!!

  2. I have just one question–seeing Lydia’s smiling face, does that mean Grandma Taylor can treat with pizza one night when she comes down? Thank you, Justine, for making Dan'[s birthday special! We love all of you!

  3. Well Grandma, I have to double check with her Dad, but I think it would be ok if you and Lydia made a homemade pizza with lots of veggies and Taylor-approved cheese. I bet she would have a lot of fun helping put it together and I have a good recipe for the crust.

  4. Sounds like a plan to me–send me a list of the non-parishable items that way I can buy them and have them
    ready–less shopping at the last minute!!! Again–thank you so much for your love for Dan and making his day very special!

Share your thoughts.

