Abby Update: 4 Days Old

For pictures of Abigail, visit our Facebook page

Things have been such a whirlwind since Abby was born last Wednesday, that I haven’t had much free time to write any updates.  Dan and I are hoping to figure out some sort of (somewhat) sane routine soon, and in the meantime my parents are here to help us keep things together.  But, here is an update on the past few days.  I hope to eventually share Abby’s full birth story, and I really think it’s a good one, with God’s hand so obviously involved in the events that happened.  Then again, I am a little biased.

When Abby was born (via C-section), she was rushed to the NICU.  Even though she was born 2 weeks younger than Lydia, Abby has not had to use a ventilator at all.  She was given a bubble CPAP, which supplied pressure to her lungs to keep them inflated.  After a treatment of sufactant (the liquid that lines our lungs), Abby’s breathing improved even more.  By Sunday (today!) Abby was transitioned to a nasal cannula, one stop closer to breathing on her own.

Abby’s birth weight was 2 pounds, 15 ounces.  By Saturday night it had decreased about 18% to 2 pounds and 9 1/2 ounces.  This isn’t a concern yet, but we certainly don’t want her losing any more of that weight!

Nurses began feeding Abby a couple of days ago and today she just started to succeed at digesting milk (which I pump for her).  She gets a whopping 4 milliliters every 4 hours.

Overall, the nurses, doctors, and respiratory therapists are thrilled with Abby’s progress.  Her breathing amazes me, as she is doing so well even though she was born earlier than her sister.  If there was any complaint, it would be that our munchkin is feisty and doesn’t care for the tubes!  She is constantly pulling them out, keeping her nurses on their toes.

As for the Parents…

Dan and I are starting to wrap our minds around what is actually happening.  Both of our parents have taken turns helping with Lydia, meals, cleaning, laundry, and giving us a chance to rest and get away to see little Abby.  I am recovering well, but still sore, and won’t be able to do much of anything for a while still.  The first few days were hard, physically and emotionally, but so many people have offered prayers, encouragement, loving words, and help.  We feel overwhelmed with the love and support.

Praise the Lord

We are thanking God for:

His hand in the delivery, at least two specific instances when He led and protected us in life or death circumstances.

Abby’s wonderful progress.  The NICU is a roller coaster but we haven’t had any drops yet.

A plentiful milk supply and that Abby is starting to digest.

Please Pray

That Mom will heal quickly as there is just too much to do when Mom can’t help!

That Dan and I will figure out a workable schedule to be able to parent Lydia and Abby, get Dan’s time in at work, and actually sleep and eat!

For Abby’s continued progress, and our patience as we begin what will be another long NICU journey.

That Abby will be home quickly.  I’m praying she can be home by Thanksgiving, but expecting by Christmas.

4 thoughts on “Abby Update: 4 Days Old

  1. I’m really glad she’s doing so well so far. 🙂 I know that sometimes there are setbacks in the NICU, but I’m glad her progress other than her weight is moving forward. 🙂 I know you have lots of church friends and you’re moving close to some of them, but let me know if I can help at all. I can come help do household chores or something. 🙂 Love you!

  2. We are so very thankful for her progress, and the way God works! He IS faithful, and has blessed you with so many friends and loved ones. We are praying for you, as our church family is, and know that our Father will help you through some of the overwhelming days to come! Love you very much.

  3. Wow sounds like she is doing amazing! I know the recovery for a c-section is not a fun one. Mostly because you more physically restrained then you think sometimes. I remember very well the day to day emotional roller coaster of the NICU. I can’t imagine the schedules your trying to juggle! I will be praying for you and your family.

Share your thoughts.

