Home, Sweet Home

 photo Family_zpscc2bf77f.jpg
This week has been a full one. It started with the church picnic last Saturday, where we stayed from 12:30 until about 10:30. Sundays are always full, because we usually don’t get home from church until after 2:30. This week we didn’t even get “lunch” finished until close to 5:00 and we ended up just calling it dinner!

Monday I had a prenatal appointment and then I spent the whole day with Lydia at Camp Tikva, our church’s Vacation Bible School. Tuesday was a day at home, but Wednesday I went back to Camp Tikva and spent the rest of the afternoon at a friend’s house. We had our evening Bible study there and didn’t get home until after 10:00 that night.

Some people can go like this all of the time. In fact, I know a lot of people who look forward to these busy times. I suppose that I did too, when I was a kid. But now, I like to be home.

My typical day at home involves sending Dan off to work, meals with the Munchkin, a walk or two outside, a phone call to my Mom and occasionally some others, at least half an hour to spend reading my Bible and praying alone, teaching Lydia new things, and the lovely mid-afternoon nap. I mix in some cleaning, planning, budgeting, laundry, and other miscellaneous to-dos. But, as simple as the day sounds, I love it.

I love having my quiet time each morning, even if I don’t get it in until just before lunch sometimes.
I love having the time to let Lydia “help” in the kitchen, or to show her how to “go get your hairbrush” or “come” when Mommy calls.
I love the freedom that I have to play the “Seep Game” when and for however long Lydia wants.
I love that, when I feel like going to the playground, we go, and when I feel like I need to take it easy, we stay home and relax.
I love laying down in our cool room for a mid-afternoon nap, knowing the Munchkin will probably sleep for at least another hour.
I love looking forward to the moment when Dan comes home.

I love the low-key, stress-free, peaceful world of our little home, even if it’s the fourth home we’ve had in less than three years of marriage and even if we’re only half unpacked, and even if we’re moving out in another few weeks.

So I guess, after all of my childhood mission-trips, vacations, and travels, I’m really just a homebody.

One of my goals in starting this Blog was to learn a little more about my job, what parts of it I really like. Sometimes I get restless and want a little “adventure”. Sometimes I wish we had our own house, instead of moving every year (or month, lately!). And sometimes I get lonely at home with just a little toddler. At times I have thought that maybe I’m just not a good person to be a stay-at-home mom, because maybe I don’t really like the job that much…but I’m learning that I do love this job. I wouldn’t want to do anything else!

2 thoughts on “Home, Sweet Home

  1. Hi, Justine!
    Numerically speaking, it’s been half a decade(!) since we lugged around recycling bins together in the streets of Accra, yet I can still see the vibrant colors of the women’s dresses and hear the rich tones of the choir sining in that Senya Beraku church. I also clearly remember chatting with you while we weaved around goats and chicken on our way back to our ‘hotel’ by the ocean, and hearing you talk about your plans after college. To be honest, I was surprised by your strong desire to marry immediately after graduating; your eagerness to embrace wifehood and motherhood whole-heartedly— to be content as a stay-at-home mom. Yet, over these past several years, as I catch occasional photos and posts of you and your family, I can see how genuinely happy you are with your blessed life as a wife, mother, and follower of Jesus. I, too, am happy for you, Justine! (Sometimes even jealous of your level of contentment 🙂 )

    Best wishes for you and your family, and your baby-to-come!

    ~Lo-Hua

  2. Lo-Hua,
    I can’t believe how long it has been since we were together in Africa. So many memories!
    I do love being a stay-at-home wife and mom, even though it’s not an easy job. God has really blessed our family with a lot, and given us an abundance of joy through it all.
    I’d love to hear what you’re up to these days! Maybe if you feel like it, you can send me a FB message and give me an update on your life happenings since Africa.
    Thanks so much for your sweet comment,
    Justine

Share your thoughts.

